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STATE OF MINNESOTA
IN SUPREME COURT

C$-81-1206

ORDER AMENDING THE RULES
OF THE SUPREME COURT FOR
REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS

The Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board has recommended to the Supreme
Court that its allocated portion of the attorney registration fee be reduced by Ten Dollars
($10.00), and

The State Board of Law Examiners has recommended to the Supreme Court that
its allocated portion of the attorney registration fee be reduced by Five Dollars ($5.00),
and

The court has reviewed the recommendations and is fully advised in the premises,

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

The attached amendments to the Rules of the Supreme Court for Registration of
Attorneys are adopted, prescribed and promulgated to be effective for registration fees
due July 1, 2000. |

Dated: May § 2000

BY THE COURT:
o S i
OFFICE OF Kathleen A. Blatz J
APPELLATE COURTS Chief Justice

MAY 8 2000
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THE RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT FOR
REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS

RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE

A. In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission to the
bar and disciplinary proceedings, over and above the amount paid by applicants for such
admission, with exception hereafter enumerated, each attorney admitted to practice law in
this state and those members of the judiciary who are required to be admitted to practice
as a prerequisite to holding office shall hereinafter annually pay to the clerk of the
appellate courts a registration fee in the sum of Twe-Hundred-and-Eificen Dollars
£245-09) Two Hundred Dollars ($200.00)or in such lesser sum as the court may

annually hereafter determine.

Such fee, or portion thereof, shall be paid on or before the first day of January, April,
July or October of each year as requested by the clerk of the appellate courts. All sums so

received shall be allocated as follows:

$20.00 $15.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners

$10.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education

$110.00 $100.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board

$17.00 to the Minnesota Client Security Fund

$50.00 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee

$8.00 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources, excluding the

income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars ($25,000.00) per year,
shall pay a registration fee in the sum of One-Hundred Minsty-Dollars($190.00) One
Hundred Seventy-five Dollars ($175.00). The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory
Committee shall be reduced by Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00),

B. The following attorneys and judges shall pay an annual registration fee of One

Hundred and MNine-Dollars($109.00) Ninety-four Dollars ($94.00):

(a) Any attorney or judge whose permanent residence is outside the State of

Minnesota and who does not practice law within the state;
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(b) Any attorney while on duty in the armed forces of the United States.

The One-Hundred Nine-Dollars($109.00) Ninety-four Dollars ($94.00) so received

shall be allocated as follows:

$20.00 $15.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners

$7.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education

$24-00 $14.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board

$50.00 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee

$8.00 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources, excluding the

income of a spouse, is Iess than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars ($25,000.00) per year,
shall pay a registration fee in the sum of Eightyfousr-Dolars-($84-00) Sixty-nine Dollars
($69.00). The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory Committee shall be reduced by

Twenty-Five Dollars ($25.00).

C. Any attorney who has not been admitted to practice for more than three years shall

pay an annual registration fee of One-Hundred-and-EourDollars-($104-00) Eighty-nine
Dollars ($89.00).

The One-Hundred-and-Eour-Dollars-($104.00) Eighty-nine Dollars ($89.00) so received

shall be allocated as follows:

$20.00 $15.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners

$10.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education

$24-00 $14.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board

$17.00 to the Client Security Fund

$25.00 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee

$8.00 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources, excluding the

income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars ($25,000.00) per year,
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shall pay a registration fee in the sum of MNinety-one Dollars-and fifty cents($91.50)

Seventy-six Dollars and fifty cents ($76.50). The allocation to the Legal Services

Advisory Committee shall be reduced by Twelve Dollars and fifty cents ($12.50).

Any attorney who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently disabled, or
who files annually with the clerk of the appellate courts an affidavit that he or she is so
retired or disabled and not engaged in the practice of law, shall be placed in a fee-exempt
category and shall remain in good standing. An attorney claiming retired or permanently
disabled status who subsequently resumes active practice of law shall promptly file notice
of such change of status with the clerk of the appellate courts and pay the annual

registration fee.




